
It's the law and 
it 's enforced 

South Carolina 
Safety Belt Law 
"Section 56-5-6520. The driver and 
every occupant of a motor vehicle, 
when it is being operated on t he 
publ ic st reets and highways of this 
state, must wear a fastened safety 
belt, which complies w ith all 

provisions of federal law for it s use. The driver is charged 
w ith the responsibility of requi ring each occupant 17 yea rs 
of age or younger to wear a safety belt or be secured in a 
child restraint system as provided in Article 47 of th is 
chapter. However, a driver is not responsible for an occupant 
17 years of age or you nger who has a driver's license, special 
rest ricted license, or beginner's permit and w ho is not 
wearing a safety belt; such occupant is in violation of this 
article and must be fined in accordance w ith Section 
56-5-6540." 

Some Exceptions 
The Law does not apply to: 

·A driver or occupant who possesses a written verification 
from a physician that he is unable to wear a safety belt for 
physical or med ica l reasons; 

•School, church, or day care buses, public transportation 
vehicles except taxis; 

·An occupant for which no safety belt is available because 
all belts are being used by other occupants; 

·Children under six years of age who must be properly 
restrained as provided by Article 47, Chapter 5 ofTitle 56 
(i.e., in a child safety seat); 

·A driver or occupant in a vehicle not originally equipped 
with safety belts. 

As of December 9, 2005, South Carolina' safety belt law 
changes from secondary enforcement to primary 
enforcement. What does that mean to a motorist? Under 
the old law, an officer could only cite a motorist for a 
safety belt violation if the motorist had been stopped 
for another violation. The new primary law, however, 
gives law enforcement officers the authority to stop a 
driver if the officer has a clear and unobstructed view of 
a driver or occupant of a motor vehicle not wearing a 
safety belt or not secured in a child restraint system. 

Violators are subject to a fine not more than $25. 
No person may be fined more than $50 for any one 
incident of more than one violation. 
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J.~. Child Passenger 
Safety Seat Law 

South Carolina law "Section 56-5-6410." Every driver 
of a motor vehicle (passenger car, pickup truck, van, or 
recreational vehicle) operated on the highways and streets 
of this State when transporting a child five years of age 
or younger upon the public streets and highways of the 
State must provide an appropriate child passenger restraint 
system and must secure the child as follows: 

• A child from birth up to one year of age or who weighs 
less than twenty pounds must be properly secured in a 
rear-facing child safety seat which meets the standards 
prescribed by the National Highway Traffic Safety 
Administration. 

• A child who is at least one year of age but less than six 
years of age and who weighs at least twenty pounds but 
less than forty pounds must be secured in a forward-fac­
ing child safety seat provided in the motor vehicle which 
meets the standards prescribed by the National Highway 
Traffic Safety Administration. 

• A child who is at least one year of age but less than six 
years of age and who weighs at least forty pounds but 
not more than eighty pounds must be secured by a belt­
positioning booster seat. The belt-positioning booster 
seat must be used with both lap and shoulder belts. A 
booster seat must not be used with a lap belt alone. 

• If a child is at least one year of age but less than six years 
of age and weighs more than eighty pounds, the child 
may be restrained in an adult safety belt. If a child less 
than six years of age can sit with his back straight 
against the vehicle seat back cushion, with his knees bent 
over the vehicle's seat edge without slouching, the child 
may be seated in the regular back seat and secured by an 
adult safety belt. 

• A child who is less than six years of age must not occupy 
a front passenger seat of a motor vehicle. This restriction 
does not apply if the motor vehicle does not have rear 
passenger seats or if other children occupy all rear 
passenger seats less than six years of age. 

• Violators are subject to a $25 fine. Some Exceptions: 
This law does not apply to: (l)Taxis (2 )Church, school 
and day care buses, or (3)Commercial vehicles. 

Child safety seats are the most effective 
occupant protection devices used in motor 
vehicles today. If used correctly, they are 
71 percent effective in reducing fa talities 

in children under the age of 5 and 
69 percent effective in reducing the 

need for hosp ita lization. 


